Hands on Computer Architecture.

This could be a quite good start for me, not just because of the academic syllabus; but this also introduces me to ASM and the interior computer set language. I could later use all the gained information to Buffer Overflows and deeper exploitation like stack exhaustion, stack overflow, heap sprays, etc later for my penetration tests. I think this was a great move for the academic course I enrolled in. Sad that this has to move faster aligned strictly to the academic syllabus here.

After I looked down to the syllabus, I found these topics to be included for the detailed study.

  1. Microprocessor 8085 features.
  2. Bus structure.
  3. Data Representation.
  4. Register Transfer and Micro-operations.
  5. Central Processing Unit.
  6. Pipelining.
  7. Vector Processing.
  8. Computer Architecture.
  9. Input-Output Organization.
  10. Memory Organization.
  11. CPU Architecture.
  12. Instruction Format.
  13. Addressing Modes.
  14. Stacks.
  15. Interrupt Handling.
  16. Basic Computer Organization and Design.
  17. Programming with ASM.
  18. Micro-programmed Control.

Previously, I did some research level study on it; I ended up with mass junk information which I pulled out from IITD training sessions. They were on Youtube, the channel list had great topics and theory lectures to browse and learn from. I then ended up documenting some of my study in hardcopy. Following are some samples.

In continuation to this plus what I had already did, I would take this up to next level, so that this doesn’t stick to to benefit my academic curriculum but also my private research which assists me with different penetration testing vectors. Resources and shares will be posted to this thread at the end. I have no idea about the beyond part, because I guess particular series of topics will be posted later to this blog in an attempt to complete the penetration testing sections. The following sees the academic portion prescribed by the West Bengal university only and sticks around it. This isn’t complete information however; to complete this you’ll need to go through the resources I give you and follow them as well. But prior to following them, you should have a basic kickstart here because that will strengthen you up!

I also looked down to the assignments I had been given to pick a clue of what the instructor could had setup the paper for the next upcoming exams (that is exactly tomorrow!). It’s always a thrill to do things at the last moment, but hey I am not that dumb either; i could do this. I will post a quick reference since you’d be wondering, if you have a best book to subscribe to! for e-learners like myself, I had been able to figure out the best book which could be applied to this subject. It’s the 3rd edition of Morris Mano on computer Architecture. You could google it away, there are torrents to it but for a quick hit, here’s the direct download link on google share:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B1gaAIMfTLladXZCODVxNkg5UEk&usp=sharing

If you need the torrent for the book (and not the answer keys to the book as well), follow the below link:

http://kickass.to/computer-system-architecture-3rd-ed-by-m-morris-mano-pdf-t8189753.html

The share also covers the answer key manual with the book itself. You don’t have to depend on your teachers now to teach you stuff, which you could easily know in better ways. Now for those who are more curious about references to videos, follow the list here:

http://www.satishkashyap.com/2012/02/video-lectures-on-microprocessors-and.html

You just need to download the videos from 1 upto 14 to complete the whole courses. Others are an extension. I had been struggling long nights to end this and today I had my hands on to write some basic on from the lectures. What I would do is summarize the whole lectures in a cronological way, and write down points related to what Ajit Pal had been talking in his series of Computer Architecture. Let’s begin with his first lecture and end to the last.

One thought on “Hands on Computer Architecture.

  1. Pingback: Analysis of questions for ISAD (Information System Analysis and Design) | pwntoken

Looking for intellectual opinions. Feedbacks are welcome!

